Interactive Scholarship Program Celebrates Innovative Community Service Worldwide

The SXSW Interactive Scholarship program recognizes individuals who are using innovative technology and new media to address significant community challenges. This program seeks nominees across all sectors and countries whose innovative, impactful work (whether as a career or avocational passion) helps others. Non-profit leaders, grassroots organizers, individual citizens, and civic-minded entrepreneurs are all eligible to win.

At SXSW, we believe that the strength of community comes from diversity of thought, gender, geography, and background. We strive to achieve this community-centric goal by utilizing a V-O-W-E-L scale of basic diversity principles. See more about the VOWEL judging criteria for the scholarship program here.

Deadline for entries was 11:59 pm CT on Friday, July 31, 2014. Scholarship winners will be notified in late August 2014 and winners will be announced in September 2014.

Essays collected through this process will also be considered as potential Dewey Winburne Community Service Award honorees. SXSW would like to thank Scott Henderson, Anne Mai Bertelsen, Cody Switzer, Brian Reich, and Allie Burns for their continued contribution to the success of this program.