About the SXSW Film Awards

Cast and Crew of Fort Tilden. Photo by Michael Buckner/Getty Images

The annual SXSW Film Awards honor the superlative creativity and talent demonstrated by filmmakers and designers in the SXSW program.

The 2014 SXSW Film Awards consisted of:

  • Feature Film Jury Awards
    (from the Narrative Feature Competition & Documentary Feature Competition categories)
  • Short Film Jury Awards
  • Design Awards
    • Excellence in Title Design
    • Excellence in Poster Design
  • Special Awards:
    • Gamechanger Award Honoring Outstanding Woman Director (Formerly Chicken & Egg Pictures Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award)
    • Louis Black "Lone Star Award"
    • Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship

SXSW is proud to be an official qualifying festival for the Academy Awards® Short Film competition. The Best Narrative Short, Documentary Short and Best Animated Short winners become eligible for the Academy Awards. SXSW is also a BAFTA-recognized festival for the purposes of eligibility for the Short Film category at the Orange British Academy Film Awards.


In addition to juried awards, all feature films (with the exception of those in the Headliners and Special Events categories) are eligible for Audience Awards by section. All Audience Award winners will be announced via sxsw.com on Saturday, March 21.

For a full list of Jury and Audience award categories see our Film Submission FAQ.

A special thank you for SXSW 2014 Film Awards graciously donated by:

Photo by Michael Buckner/Getty Images