About the SXSW Film Awards

(L-R) Keith Stanfield, Rami Malek, Kaitlyn Dever, director Destin Cretton, Brie Larson and John Gallagher Jr. "Short Term 12" - Grand Jury Award for Narrative Feature at the 2013 SXSW Film Awards. (Photo by Michael Buckner/Getty Images for SXSW)

The annual SXSW Film Awards honor the superlative creativity and talent demonstrated by filmmakers and designers in the SXSW program.

The 2014 SXSW Film Awards will take place on Tuesday, March 11 at 8pm at the Paramount Theater. We will announce the winners of the:

  • Feature Film Jury Awards
    (from the Narrative Feature Competition & Documentary Feature Competition categories)
  • Short Film Jury Awards
  • Design Awards
    • Excellence in Title Design
    • Excellence in Poster Design
  • Special Awards:
    • Gamechanger Award Honoring Outstanding Woman Director (Formerly Chicken & Egg Pictures Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award)
    • Louis Black "Lone Star Award"
    • Karen Schmeer Film Editing Fellowship

SXSW is proud to be an official qualifying festival for the Academy Awards® Short Film competition. The Best Narrative Short, Documentary Short and Best Animated Short winners become eligible for the Academy Awards. SXSW is also a BAFTA-recognized festival for the purposes of eligibility for the Short Film category at the Orange British Academy Film Awards.


In addition to juried awards, all feature films (with the exception of those in the Headliners and Special Events categories) are eligible for Audience Awards by section. All Audience Award winners will be announced via sxsw.com on Saturday, March 15.

For a full list of Jury and Audience award categories see our Film Submission FAQ.

Fuzzrocket are the presenting sponsor for the SXSW Film Awards

A special thank you to awards graciously donated by:

Photos (from top) by Michael Buckner and Lisa Hause